For the first 10 years of my life I had my own bedroom, I was an only child in a Melbourne Suburb.  For the next 6 years I shared a bedroom with my new younger brother.  For the next 2 years I lived in a Junior Seminary where 50 of us slept in a dormitory.  The following year I had my own room/cell as a Novice in an Italian Religious Order founded in Australia but Irish Missionaries.  The next two years, almost, I had my own cell in Ballarat, Melbourne, in a 19th Century Bluestone Building. I then returned home to share once again with my younger brother for two years.

Our parents could see that they needed an extra bedroom and decided to sell the house they had bought in suburban Murrumbeena in 1946.  They used spend Sundays inspecting display homes in outer Melbourne suburbs.  They settled on a three bedroom neo colonial modest home on a small block in Mulgrave.  We moved in 1968.  By 1970 I had left home and found a room in the house of a Melbourne Academic from The Conservatorium of Music, Meredith Moon.  It was a brief stay in Hartwell when I found a room for rent with toilet and bathroom in Armadale for ten dollars a week.

It was a few months later that I moved into my first flat alone, it was also in Armadale, and 17 dollars a week in an Art Deco Block of four flats.

As the bedroom journey continued it went from shared houses, apartments and finally alone again in a suburban flat.

The Journey Continues..IMG_1304

About dyoll09

Baby Boomer ex pat in azia for 10 years. Male. Now in Melbourne for chemotherapy.

Leave a Reply

