I have wanted to write about this April Evening for some time..

Balcony Bar Bangkok, once owned by Molly Meldrum…I had been there once or twice.  I had arrived in Bangkok early on a flight from Melbourne after burying my 86 year old father.  I always stayed at Opera Hotel in Pratunam in Bangkok.  At the time I was living in a Bungalow on the beach in Hua Hin on the Gulf of Thailand, a peaceful place which I still hold close to my heart.

It was around 8.00pm and having slept for many hours woke up with a massive appetite for food.  I did not know of many places to eat, strange considering I was in Bangkok.  I knew of Balcony Bar and that they served food.  Hung over I made my way into the Bar, I just wanted some food.  I went to the bar and ordered a drink, all in Thai.  I had been in The Kingdom for almost  5  years and had a reasonable grip on the Lingo to get me through the day. It seemed only a short time before I felt a tap on my shoulder.  I looked around to see a young Thai man. We greeted one another in Thai.  He held a glass of beer in his hand and I recall he was wearing a bright red T Shirt. All in my primitive Thai, asked him if he would like to join me at a table as I needed to eat.  We sat together and I asked him what he wanted to drink as I was ordering a Red Wine, and he was happy to have a Coke…I think the beer in his hand was some kind of security blanket for him in retrospect..I had difficulty in getting his name right and am sure made many mistakes initially…

It is now almost 12 years since Samran and I have been together, like all journeys, it has had an up and down rhythm.  I am thankful each day for the kindness, the care and the laughter that we have shared thus far…he has enriched my life, taught me many things, I have become part of his family.

Never look for love, it creeps up when you are least prepared to engage with such a concept..

Na Mo Ta Sa Pa Ka Wa Tor

About dyoll09

Baby Boomer ex pat in azia for 10 years. Male. Now in Melbourne for chemotherapy.

Leave a Reply

