I was hungry for a Spanakopita, Saturday around 2.00pm….the Bakery is across the road, need both the food and the exercise, I did throw in a slice of baked cheese cake…delish!

As I crossed the road, there was a car parked with an elderly couple, and two copies of Melways in each of their hands.  He seemed the navigator while she was the driver.  How could I not offer some help, drawn like a moth to the proverbial flame.  I opened the gentleman’s door, who with a frail voice, said they were looking for the Golf Course.  We thought it was a lovely day and we would drive for a game of golf.  He was 92 and she a few years younger.

My sense of direction is hopeless but after a lot of conversation peppered by my inquisition as to what were they doing, I think I got across the directions, a few kilometres away from where they had parked..

The brief interaction was sublime, her emerald brooch with two owls, his fading eyesight, their quintessential British accents, serendipitous saturday….my thanks..

About dyoll09

Baby Boomer ex pat in azia for 10 years. Male. Now in Melbourne for chemotherapy.

Leave a Reply

